This site contains commercial content
access_time 3 years ago

All the results of The Best FIFA Football Awards 2019

visibility 941
comment 0

The Best FIFA Awards just were held on 23 September 2019 in Milan, Italy. During the FIFA Best of the Best Awards ceremony, Lionel Messi, Barcelona’s striker, received the award for the best player of the year.

The Best FIFA Men’s Player

The three competitors for the title were Leo Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Virgil Van Dijk. They were in competition to be the successor of the 2018 winner, Luka Modric. During the ceremony held by FIFA, the name of the big winner was revealed and it is unsurprisingly Leo Messi.

10 candidates were in competition and three finalists were selected on September 2nd, 2019

1Lionel Messi Barcelona Argentina46
2Virgil van Dijk Liverpool Netherlands38
3Cristiano Ronaldo Juventus Portugal36
4Mohamed Salah Liverpool Egypt26
5Sadio Mané Liverpool Senegal23
6Kylian Mbappé Paris Saint-Germain France17
7Frenkie de Jong Ajax  Netherlands16
8Eden Hazard Chelsea  Belgium16
9Matthijs de Ligt Ajax Netherlands9
10Harry Kane Tottenham Hotspur England5

It is the first time that La Pulga has the opportunity to lift the prestigious The Best trophy. Even if the Argentinian player is dominating international football for the past 10 years, the previous editions of the ceremony rewarded Luka Modric in 2018 and Cristiano Ronaldo in 2017 and 2016 as the Best player of the year. This fourth edition of the trophy. This fourth edition of the trophy rewards the Argentinian for his great season with FC Barcelona and winning the Spanish League. La Pulga was the top scorer of La Liga 2018-19 and won the European Golden Shoe against PSG striker’s Kylian Mbappé.

The Argentinian scored and a total of 36 goals during the last season championship. Despite a bitter end to the season and a defeat in the semi-finals of the Champions League and the King’s Cup final, Messi still reigns with an iron fist over the world of football.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

Megan Rapinoe was awarded The Best FIFA Women’s Player trophy for 2019. The American forward ranked with 46 points and was rewarded for her brilliant season with USA national team by scoring 6 goals during the2019 World Cup, The American world champion and spokeswoman for women’s football wanted to raise awareness against racism and homophobia in football.

1Megan Rapinoe Reign FC United States46
2Alex Morgan Orlando Pride United States42
3Lucy Bronze Lyon England29

The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper

1AlissonLiverpool Brazil
2Marc-André Ter Stegen Barcelona Germany
3Ederson Manchester City Brazil

The Brazilian goalkeeper of Liverpool was awarded Best Goalkeeper of 2019 for his season his Liverpool. Last month, he was declared UEFA Champions League Goalkeeper of the Season and had won the Golden Glove awards for most clean sheets in both the Premier League and Copa America. He was competing against Barcelona‘s goalkeeper Marc-André Ter Stegen and City‘s N°1 and fellow Brazilian Ederson.

Alisson has been waiting for him on stage but is finally there and receives the prize from his compatriot Marta. “In life you have to fight and pursue your dreams” said the Reds’ goalkeeper.

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper

Dutch goalkeeper Sari van Veenendaal of Atletico Madrid won the prize for best goalkeeper ahead of Christiane Endler of Paris Saint-Germain and Hedvig Lindahl. She was voted best goalkeeper during the 2019 World Cup in France.

The Best FIFA Men’s Coach

1 Jürgen Klopp Liverpool48
2 Pep Guardiola Manchester City38
3 Mauricio Pochettino Tottenham Hotspur27

4 Erik ten Hag Ajax26
5 Djamel Belmadi Algeria26
6 Didier Deschamps France19
7 Fernando Santos Portugal16
8 Tite Brazil12
9 Marcelo Gallardo River Plate10
10 Ricardo Gareca Peru10

Liverpool and Champions League winner Jurgen Klopp was selected to be 2019 best Men’s Coach, he was facing his fellow Premier League manager Pep Guardiola who managed to carry Manchester City on top of the English championship and Mauricio Pochettino whom he faced in the Champions League final.

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach

1 Jill Ellis United States48
2 Sarina Wiegman Netherlands40
3 Phil Neville England31

2019 World Cup champion Jill Ellis was awarded The Best FIFA Women’s Coach 2019 for her ability to win the Women’s World Cup with the USA’s national team. She was competing against Sarina Wiegman from Netherlands national team and Phil Neville from England national team.

FIFA Puskás Award

The Puskás Award rewards the best goal of the last season, it’s Daniel Zsori from Debrecen that was awarded the prestigious price. He wins against Leo Messi

You can find all the list of all the goals nominated for the price here

FIFA FIFPro Men’s World11

The fictional dream team composed of the 11 best players of the season at their respective position. The players chosen were:

Fair play award

Javier Zanetti presented the Fair Play prize to Bielsa’s assistant at Leeds, for his gesture during the match against Aston Villa. Under their coach’s orders, Leeds let the Villans even the score after the Yorkshire players scored a goal while an opposing player was on the ground.

Best fan award

It is the mother of a Palmeiras fan, Silvia Grecco, who wins the award. Her son, blind, cannot see the matches but it is his mother who comments on the matches for her child. The legendary female Brazilian player Marta, in the assembly, cannot hold her tears.